Home » Recipes » From The Kitchen: Pumpkin Spice Muffins

From The Kitchen: Pumpkin Spice Muffins

I will be the first to admit I’m not much into baking these days. It’s messy, I don’t care for sifting dry ingredients together, and clean up can be a hassle. But I know it’s cheaper to bake my own goodies than to purchase ready-made items at the bakery, and we are definitely watching every cent that leaves our pockets. I visit other blogs and Pinterest on occasion looking for easy recipes and ideas to make my excursions in baking easier, and once in awhile I find something that catches my eye.

I can’t remember where I first saw the two-ingredient pumpkin muffin recipe, but it seemed simple enough. The two ingredients were a yellow cake mix and a 15 oz can of pumpkin. Easy, right?  The first attempt at these muffins went so-so; I used a box of spice cake because it seemed to be a better fit with pumpkin, but the batter was very sticky. They were tasty but small and resembled tiny hockey pucks. They weren’t hard, but they weren’t as I expected either. Muffins should be soft and moist, and these were a far cry from either.

Since the first attempt, I’ve been tweaking the mixture to make the muffins better. I do realize that, because I’m using cake mix, the texture will always be more like cake rather than muffins, but I can accept that. This time, I added an egg, two rounded tablespoons of cold-pressed coconut oil, about 1/4 cup of crushed almonds and a splash of homemade vanilla extract.  They came out beautiful and the texture is much closer to how I wanted. Here is my recipe.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Makes 12-15 muffins

  • 1 box spice cake mix, any brand
  • 1 15oz can pure pumpkin (do not use pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons cold-pressed virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until everything is incorporated. Spoon mixture into paper-lined muffin tins. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. If desired, these can be frosted lightly with cream cheese frosting while warm, though I have never done this. I sure would love to try it someday, though.

I don’t quite have the photographer’s eye that others do, but I will say the muffin tins shown in the photo are antique, as they belonged to my grandma, and now my sweet 86 year old mother. She is the lucky recipient of these yummy muffins. I know she will enjoy them, and I hope you do, too.

 
Buon appetito!

Leave a Reply

